Solid State Science and Technology, Vol. 15, No 2 (2007) 118-122

ISSN 0128-7389


Nuraffera Mohd Nasir, Md. Rahim Sahar and Md. Supar Rohani

Physic Dept., Faculty of Science, Universiti Teknologi Malaysia,

81310 Skudai, Johor Darul Takzim



Series of samarium doped tellurite glass on the (70-x) TeO2-20Nb2O5-10Li2O-(x) Sm2O3 system where x is 0 to 5mol% has successfully been made by melt quenching technique. The density and the thermal parameters such as Tg, Tc , Tm and glass stability have been determined by Differential Thermal Analysis (DTA). It is found that the variation of the glass densities with Sm2O3 content shows an increasing trend. It is also observed that the Tg and Tc were both compositional dependence. Meanwhile, the glass stability, (Tc-Tg) is very much depending on the amount of Sm2O3 content.



[1]. R. El-Mallawany. (2002); Handbook of Tellurite Glasses,Physical Properties & Data,CRC Press LLC.

[2]. G.D. Khattak , M.A. Salim. (2002); Journal of Electron Spectroscopy and Related Phenomena. 123, 4755.

[3]. M.A. Sidkey, A. Abd El-Moneim, L. Abd El-Latif. (1999); Materials Chemistry and Physics. 61, 103-109.

[4]. H.G. Kim,T. Komatsu, K. Shioya, K. Matusita, K. Tanaka, K.Hirao. (1996); J.Non-Cryst. Solids. 208, 303.

[5]. U. Hoppe,E. Yousef, C. Russel, J. Neuefeind, A.C. Hannon. (2002); J.Solid State Commun.. 123, 273.

[6]. M. Samoc,A. Samoc,B. Luther,Z. Bao, L.P. Yu,B. Hesieh,U.Scherf. (1998) ;J. Opt. Soc. Am. B. 15, 817.

[7]. H. Burger,W. Vogel, V. Kozhukharov. (1985); Infrared Phys.25, 395.

[8]. T. Komatsu, H. Tawarayama, H.Mohri. (1991); J.Non-Cryst.Solids.135, 105.

[9]. Shixun Dai, Jialu Wu, Junjie Zhang, Guonian Wang, Zhonghong Jiang. (2005); Spectrochimica Acta Part A.

[10]. T.V.R. Rao , R.R. Reddy, Y. Nazeer Ahammed , M. Parandamaiah ,N. Sooraj Hussain , S. Buddhudu , K. Purandar. (2000); Infrared Physics & Technology. 41, 247-258

[11]. J.Heo et al.(1992); J.Am. Ceram. Soc.75, 277-281

[12]. A.Abd El-Moneim. (2002) ;Materials Chemistry and Physics. 73, 318-322

[13]. G.Turky, M.Dawy. (2002); Materials Chemistry and Physics. 77, 48-59

[14]. Lydia Le Neindre, Shibin Jiang , Bor-Chyuan Hwang, Tao Luo, Jason Watson, Nasser Peyghambarian. (1999); Journal of Non-Crystalline Solids. 255, 97-102

[15]. M.R. Sahar, N.Noordin. (1995) ;Journal of Non-Crystalline Solids. 184, 137-140.